So I dont want to be in academia what now

• Thread starter slam7211
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Academia
In summary, for those studying physics who do not want to pursue a career in academia, it is recommended to finish a BS in physics and then obtain a masters degree in an engineering field. Practical work experience should also be gained along the way. The specific field of engineering may vary, but it is important to consider what type of job you want and what will make you feel challenged and engaged. It may also be helpful to look for summer job postings in the area to gain more experience and help make a decision about your career path. Switching majors may also be an option, but it is important to consider the time and requirements involved. Ultimately, the decision should be based on individual goals and what will lead to a fulfilling career.
slam7211
So I don't want to be in academia...what now

Im a current Junior undergrad student studying physics, and after reading about "post-doc hell" academia has gone to last on my list of things I want to do, I know there are jobs in the private/public non academia sector out there for those knowledgeable in physics my question is what level of a degree should I get if I am looking for something outside academia and what kinds of jobs are out there?

Physics news on Phys.org

For this career path, I would finish your BS in physics and earn a masters degree in an engineering field. Try to get some practical work experience along the way.

thats what I was figuring, now what kind of engineering, EE seems to be the big one but I hate circuits if people can give me a basic overview of other engineering fields that would be great (I know that sounds stupid but I am looking for more of what a job in a specific engineering field might look like) aka I know what ME "is" but idk what kind of jobs I could expect from it etc