Solving Resistance to Increase Thermistor Temperature Reading

• Thread starter EclipseAlex
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Resistance
In summary, the conversation discusses the issue of manipulating a thermistor to read a higher temperature than it actually is. The solution involves adding a resistor in parallel with the thermistor. The specific calculations and values for the resistor are also mentioned. It is acknowledged that there may be potential problems with accuracy, but it is not a critical issue for the application. The conversation also expresses a desire to learn and problem solve.
EclipseAlex

Homework Statement

Hi all this is my first post so bare with me! My background is that I am new to the industry of controls engineering but my problem is more fundamental than any related specifics of control engineering so please read on!
Basically. I have a thermistor. It reads 9700 Ohms at 10decC and 6500 Ohms at 20decC (NTC). For a reason that I won't go too far into (controller not letting me do what I want with it because the manufacturer never specced it for the application I am using it for) I want to make it think it's 10decC higher than it actually is. This clearly involves putting another resistor between the temp sensor (thermistor) and controller. But how, where, parralell, series, size etc.

I have given it a go. Everyday is a huge learning experience for me. I love to problem solve, to engineer, to become informed! I just don't have the formal education I know a lot of people on this site do so please share the knowledge!

I know there will be potential problems with linearity, accuracy isn't hugely important. It's not a critical application, it needs to work, not be spot on perfect.

Thanks in advance

Homework Equations

1/R = 1/Ra + 1/Rb etc

The Attempt at a Solution

6500^-1 - 9700^-1 = 1/R

Physics news on Phys.org