1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Some doubts about my education.

1. Nov 7, 2011 #1
    Good day,

I'm a Mexican student who is currently in his 3rd year of Junior High School; from an early age I have shown some inclination towards Mathematics and Science (especially Physics).

Within a few months I will finish Junior High School and I'm planning in enrolling in the International Baccalaureate program at a prestigious High School which can offer me a ~40/50% scholarship (which is the maximum scholarship that they offer to small schools like mine). Recently I have been thinking about the following questions:

• Should I make my undergrad studies in a Mexican University (UNAM or IPN) or shall I study in another country? In case I study in another country: approximately how much does a semester on a U.S. university cost (something like Berkeley or MIT)?
    • In case I make my undergrad studies in Mexico: would it be recommendable for me to make my graduate studies (M.D. and Ph.D.) in another country?

Thanks for your attention,
    Patrick.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 7, 2011 #2
    You could consider doing your first degree in Europe: undergraduate fees for international students in the UK probably work out cheaper than fees at prestigious institutions in the UK. Assuming you can pick up a language (or even european spanish), institutions on the continent are much cheaper: some are completely free!

4. Nov 8, 2011 #3
    An easy way to check the tuition fees for US universities is with this site:
    http://colleges.usnews.rankingsandreviews.com/best-colleges/rankings/national-universities/spp+50