Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Special relativity time dilation question

1. Jun 7, 2014 #1
    Out of interest I'm studying a book "A first course in general relativity" which is a great book in my opinion because it explains the subject very well. I'm a beginner though and I have a hard time understanding one particular thing mentioned quite early in the book. I'm attaching a scan of a small part of the text. I understand this part fine except for one thing. On the second page I'm attaching it says "A simple calculation shows this to be at t=sqrt((1-v²))".

I dont understand how they arrive at this. Would someone be able to provide an explanation or some hints so that I will hopefully get it? It must be something pretty obvious because they say its simple but I just dont understand it at the moment.

Thanks!

Attached Files:

• p19.jpg
      p19.jpg
      File size:
      72.8 KB
      Views:
    • p20.jpg
      p20.jpg
      File size:
      56.6 KB
      Views:
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 7, 2014 #2

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

Seriously? You want people to read something you've posted SIDEWAYS?

4. Jun 7, 2014 #3
    Oops sorry! I hope this is better?

Attached Files:

5. Jun 7, 2014 #4
    You need to apply the Pythagorus theorem to the triangle.

6. Jun 7, 2014 #5
    Thanks, I considered this before already but I still cannot figure it out. Perhaps you can indicate how I obtain the values of the sides of the relevant triangle?

7. Jun 7, 2014 #6

PeterDonis

2016 Award

Staff: Mentor