Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Featured I SQM vs Pilot Waves - Potential issue with Pilot Waves?

1. Nov 17, 2016 #1
    Hey there. I'm not a expert in quantum mechanics, although have some experience with it, but I'm certainly far from being an expert when it comes to the pilot wave interpretation. For whatever reason, pilot waves have been mentioned quite a lot recently, and so I decided to take a closer look at it. I've seen many people claim that it makes the same predictions as standard quantum mechanics (Schrodinger equation, etc.), but I was pointed to this paper which seems to show that there is actually an issue with the predictions of the pilot wave theory:

Deficiencies of Bohm Trajectories in View of Basic Quantum Principles

Of course, it is possible that the people who have wrote this have made a mistake, but I don't have the ability to see it if it is there. Is this result not a serious issue for supporters of the pilot wave interpretation?
    Thanks in advance.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 17, 2016 #2

dextercioby

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

I am by no means expert on these issues, but I know that Hagen Kleinert is a smart guy. @Demystifier is the greatest fan/expert of Bohmian Mechanics on PF, so he is welcome to review this paper.

4. Nov 17, 2016 #3

A. Neumaier

Science Advisor
    2016 Award

The equivalence holds only after averaging over the ensemble of all possible Bohmian trajectories - not for a fixed collection of N trajectories of an N-particle system.