Designing a Car with Multiple Boxes: Free Body Diagrams

In summary, the conversation is about designing a car that can carry multiple stacked boxes and understanding the forces involved. The main question is about the stability of the stacked boxes and why adding more boxes makes it easier for them to fall off. It is suggested to model the situation with one box first and then vary its height. The concept of center of mass and equilibrium is mentioned as a way to understand the stability of the stacked boxes. The practical implication is that the likelihood of toppling over is similar whether there is one high box or multiple stacked boxes.
Ken12332123123123
hi, i am studying about design the box carried on car.
i am really stuck in how to draw free body diagram for when 3 or more boxes stack together on car running and braking. there are many example with 2 boxes but i don't know why i can't find any case with 3 or more boxes
thanks in advance

Physics news on Phys.org
hello,
i have a question about the box carried on car: why the more boxes we stack the easier it fall down ? can anyone explain it in details
thanks

Ken12332123123123 said:
hello,
i have a question about the box carried on car: why the more boxes we stack the easier it fall down ? can anyone explain it in details
thanks

For a start, model one box, then vary its height.

can you please give me detail. the thing is i think it is different when we use 1 high box and 3 boxes stacking with each other because they separate

Ken12332123123123 said:
can you please give me detail. the thing is i think it is different when we use 1 high box and 3 boxes stacking with each other because they separate
I don't understand your problem. If you must design a car with three boxes stacked on top of each other, it is quite the same diagram as when there are two boxes. Just that now there is another box introducing its own forces.