Exploring System Modeling and Simulation: Applications, Tools, and Education

In summary, the conversation is about the benefits of joining Physics Forums for professionals, specifically for Mechanical Engineers, to discuss and gain knowledge on issues related to their field. The main topic being discussed is System Modeling and Simulation, with questions about its practice in various industries, required skills and subjects, tools used, and available forums for discussion. There is also a query about universities offering Masters in System Modeling and Simulation and any other related information on the topic.
Boms2005
Hi all,

I am new to Physics Forums. Threads in the forum are excellent. As a Mechanical Engineer, It helps me to discuss about issues encountered in my work and also get to know about issues faced by others in their Engineering practice…

To solidify my understanding, I would like to know your views about System Modeling and Simulation (1D Plant modeling) and its practice across different industries…?

Pre-requisites to be a System Modeling and Simulation Engineer...? Subjects needs to be familiar with….

How modeling & Simulation are practiced in Aerospace, Automotive and Process Industries (Refinery….)? The intent behind System modeling and Simulation in these industries…?

Tools used for modeling Mechanical, Electrical, Hydraulic, Pneumatic and Thermal Systems….?

Forums available to discuss about System Modeling related issues…? (Other than “Physics Forum”)

System Modeling and Simulation Practice in North America,Europe and Asia...?

Are there Universities offering Masters in System Modeling and Simulation…?

Engineering news on Phys.org
Any other related information to System Modeling and Simulation…?I would like to know your views/opinions on above topics.Thanks in advance.

1. What is system modeling and simulation?