What is the significance of the tautological line bundle in twistor theory?

• Thread starter chrispb
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Line
In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of a tautological line bundle in twistor theory. The base space of this bundle is a quotient space obtained by identifying each line in Euclidean space with a single point. The total space of the bundle is not the same as Euclidean space minus the origin. The conversation also touches on the relationship between projective space and the bundle, as well as the notation used in the "O(1)" notation and its connection to algebraic geometry. It is noted that a significant background in algebraic geometry and topology is necessary to fully understand these concepts.
chrispb
Hi all,

I'm a physicist attempting to learn twistor theory. I'm confused by this notion of a tautological line bundle. So far, the most accessible source has been http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tautological_line_bundle" . In the definition, they say v in x. Do they mean a point in RP^n again? If so, why didn't they write RP^n x RP^n in the first place?

So, what I'm getting out of the second paragraph is RP^n is the base space, and we're adding a line acting as a fiber at every point in it. More specifically, we're adding the line that passes through the point. If so, why do they say RP^n x R^(n+1) instead of RP^n x R^n in the definition? Regardless, it seems that after doing this, my total space will just be R^(n+1). This statement, however, disagrees with their claim at the bottom that I'll recover a Mobius strip for n=1.

In twistor theory, I'm primarily concerned with "O(1), the dual of the tautological line bundle O(-1) over CP^1". Where does this O(-1) notation come from? Is it part of some more exciting area of math?

Thanks in advance! Chris

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
chrispb said:
Hi all,