Teach me about classical mechanics please

In summary, classical mechanics is a branch of physics that involves applying mathematical rigor to understand the motions of objects and their interactions. It attempts to unify relativity and quantum mechanics, but a satisfactory theory has not yet been found. Mathematicians can contribute to finding a solution, but it requires a deep understanding of various mathematical concepts. This includes analysis, Lie group theory, topology, category theory, and more. Further research is needed in order to fully understand and solve the problem of unifying relativity and quantum mechanics.
Krunchyman
I have no prior experience in physics, but I am a math undergrad so I know calculus, differential equations, linear algebra and stuff like that. So I'm ready to move from the conceptual "bedtime story physics" to stuff with real mathematical rigor.

So, what is classical mechanics all about? What are the big theorems and results?

Physics news on Phys.org
This wikipedia article should give you a good overview of what classical mechanics is all about. Note that this article links to almost everything else about classical mechanics, so you should follow all the links, especially the ones in the expandable/collapsible table in the upper right of the page.

Likes ISamson and Chestermiller
440px-Modernphysicsfields.svg.png

This might not 100% relate to the OP, but it caught my eye...

Attachments

• 440px-Modernphysicsfields.svg.png
    440px-Modernphysicsfields.svg.png
    8.4 KB · Views: 1,306
ISamson said:
View attachment 214443

Does quantum field theory try to unify relativity and quantum mechanics? If not, what it is supposed to do?

Quantum Field Theory is special-relativistic quantum theory. No one has worked out a quantum theory that plays nicely with general relativity, although a lot of effort has gone into looking.

Ibix said: