Tell it to me straight, please

• Thread starter Choronzon
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation discusses the speaker's past as a high school dropout and their decision to pursue a physics degree at a community college. They share their concerns about catching up with their peers and whether they will be able to graduate in three years and continue on to graduate school. The speaker also considers the possibility of pursuing a dual degree or major and asks for advice on applying to a department for a major. The response advises taking a full curriculum and counting on five years to complete the degree, as well as considering the time commitment for graduate school and postdoctoral appointments.
Choronzon
Hi everyone!

I'll just dive right into by saying I was an absolutely terrible student in high school. Despite being fairly intelligent, my high school life consisted almost entirely of sex, drugs, and rock'n'roll. I also dropped out at seventeen and joined the army.

To make a long story short, I served my term, fathered a daughter, and started a business with my brother and father. I'm now a different man with a sense of responsibility and everything. At the age of twenty seven, I found myself financially secure but very bored, so I decided to put my G.I. Bill to use and enrolled in the local community college. I'm now just starting my second year and have decided I'd like to study physics.