Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

"Temperature feel" and evaporation

1. Jan 18, 2016 #1
    Is there a formula relating "temperature feel" to measured temperature and evaporation of water in an evaporation pan (in mm)?
    I have data on:
    *average temperature
    *evaporation of water in an evaporation pan
    *minimum temperature of water in an evaporation pan
    *maximum temperature of water in an evaporation pan

I want to somehow calculate or approximate "temperature feel" for hot days, something like the temperature-humidity index. Is that possible from this data?

I'm a social scientist and I know absolutely nothing about this stuff, so please excuse me if this question is ridiculous.

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 18, 2016
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 18, 2016 #2
    Also, why is my text so big compared to everyone else's?

4. Jan 18, 2016 #3

gneill

Staff: Mentor

Your copy/pasted text included BBcode formatting tags. I've removed them for you :smile:

5. Jan 18, 2016 #4

russ_watters

The question is not ridiculous, but it is not straightforward either. First you would need to define what "temperature feel" means because I've never heard of it before. There are, however, measures that attempt to reconcile weather conditions against what you feel, such as heat index and wbgt. You should probably google and read up on them and see if they meet your needs.

6. Jan 19, 2016 #5
    Heat index and wbgt require relative humidity as an input. I don't have relative humidity in my data. :(

7. Jan 19, 2016 #6
    Thanks.

8. Jan 24, 2016 #7
  9. Jan 24, 2016 #8

russ_watters

Sorry, missed the response...
    You should be able to calculate RH from your data for the heat index, but wbgt does not require RH -- you should be able to use your data directly.

10. Jan 27, 2016 #9