1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Support PF! Reminder for those going back to school to buy their text books via PF Here!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Other Temptation to read many books on same topics

1. Jul 24, 2015 #1
    Dear Physics Forum advisers,

I am a college sophomore in US with a major in mathematics and an aspiring mathematician in the computational complexity theory. I have been reading some math books on different topics, such as analysis and abstract algebra. As a former microbiology major, it is very surprising that the mathematics has more books for different topics than biological science. Currently, I am studying Apostol-Mathematical Analysis and Pugh for the introductory analysis, Artin and Hoffman/Kunze for the algebra, and Halmos for the set theory. I also have been checking out various real analysis textbooks to get an exposure to the basics of measure theory and approximation for my upcoming math undergraduate research in the computational theory and wireless communications. I noticed that there are near-countless number of books dedicated for the introductory analysis and abstract algebra, which causes me a temptation to read all of them and also an anxiety that I will miss something from other books if I dedicated myself to read the books I mentioned above. How should I overcome such temptation and anxiety? After you finish reading a book on a certain mathematical topic (let's say the real analysis), then do you proceed to another book on the same level as your previous book to get a different approach, or do you proceed to an advanced book with more vigorous treatment of the subject?

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 24, 2015 #2

DEvens

Education Advisor
    Gold Member