Temptation to read many books on same topics

In summary, Mr. MidgetDwarf recommends reading three books, two for different approaches and one for challenging problem sets. He recommends doing problems and relying on a good library. Russian texts are also highly recommended.
bacte2013
Dear Physics Forum advisers,

I am a college sophomore in US with a major in mathematics and an aspiring mathematician in the computational complexity theory. I have been reading some math books on different topics, such as analysis and abstract algebra. As a former microbiology major, it is very surprising that the mathematics has more books for different topics than biological science. Currently, I am studying Apostol-Mathematical Analysis and Pugh for the introductory analysis, Artin and Hoffman/Kunze for the algebra, and Halmos for the set theory. I also have been checking out various real analysis textbooks to get an exposure to the basics of measure theory and approximation for my upcoming math undergraduate research in the computational theory and wireless communications. I noticed that there are near-countless number of books dedicated for the introductory analysis and abstract algebra, which causes me a temptation to read all of them and also an anxiety that I will miss something from other books if I dedicated myself to read the books I mentioned above. How should I overcome such temptation and anxiety? After you finish reading a book on a certain mathematical topic (let's say the real analysis), then do you proceed to another book on the same level as your previous book to get a different approach, or do you proceed to an advanced book with more vigorous treatment of the subject?

Physics news on Phys.org
There is probably more math than any normal human can possibly learn. Life is finite.