1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Support PF! Reminder for those going back to school to buy their text books via PF Here!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Thermodynamics and Statistical Thermodynamics References

1. Feb 10, 2010 #1
    Hi,
    i'm an Applied Physics student (2nd year).
    Could you please tell me a book to study thermodynamics from?
    I've studied from Thermodynamics, Kinetic Theory, and Statistical Thermodynamics by Sears - Salinger and it is pretty good.
    Has anyone "tested" :
    1) An Introduction to Thermal Physics by Daniel V. Schroeder
    2) Heat and Thermodynamics by Mark W. Zemansky - Richard H. Dittman
    3) Thermodynamics and an Introduction to Thermostatistics by Herbert B. Callen
    4) Thermodynamics by Enrico Fermi ?

If someone has tried another textbook and they think it was realy helpfull, please let me know.
    Thanks, in advance!

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 10, 2010 #2
    Re: Thermodynamics

I used An Introduction to Thermal Physics by Daniel V. Schroeder last semester. It required a lot of derivation as part of the questions. If you want a book with more step-by-step help and sample problems worked out within the text, I'd look elsewhere. I have not tried any others to give you a better suggestion, however.

4. Feb 11, 2010 #3
    anyone some help??? please??

5. Feb 11, 2010 #4

Andy Resnick

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Fermi's book is excellent. I also like Tolman's "principles of statistical mechanics".

6. Sep 13, 2010 #5