Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Thought experiment about fluid compressibility

1. Jul 15, 2013 #1
    I'm a physics noob but this is something I was thinking about when I read in my textbook that fluids are generally incompressible.

Let's say I had 1000 L of water enclosed in a sphere several meters thick (say, 2 meters thick) made of an extremely hard, dense metal with 0 outlets or holes of any kind. (Some other material other than metal might be better for this, since metals are malleable and can be punctured with high pressure.) The water is perfectly enclosed in the sphere, which has a volume of exactly 1000 L.

Let's say this sphere was constructed in such a way that it could be radius could be reduced uniformly so that I can keep "squeezing" the water inside. Maybe the plates of the sphere on the outside slide over each other or something.

What happens to the water as I keep compressing? Does it just turn into a gas? What kinds of forces are exerted by the water on the sphere? Could I do this without shattering the sphere?

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 15, 2013 #2

boneh3ad

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Well water is incompressible... practically. In reality, water is very, very slightly compressible. The pressure generated by a thermonuclear explosion under water can just barely compress it, for example.

Anyway, since water is incompressible, as you keep squeezing your sphere, the water is just going to resist any sort of volume change by exerting an equal and opposite force to your squeezing, which would measure as an increase in water pressure inside.

Think about trying to squeeze a steel ball with your hand. It doesn't give any even as you squeeze harder. It's the same thing with your situation only with the ball squeezing the water.