Can a Single Nucleotide Mutation Significantly Change a Protein's Function?

In summary: However, depending on where the substitution occurs, the amino acid substitution could have a very significant effect on protein function. Remember that amino acids differ in size, shape, polarity, and charge. Those differences are critical for the folding and function of the protein. So, for example, changing a hydrophobic amino acid to a charged one in the hydrophobic core of a protein could significantly alter its stability and function. It's all about context, so while most amino acid substitutions will have no effect, some can have a significant effect.
jaumzaum
Hi. I'm in the first year of Medicine and I'm studying Genetics and Evolution. I have this doubt in the back of my mind and I'm not being able to move forward without someone explaining me what's wrong with my thinking.

So I've learned an allele is a variant form of a gene, all alleles of the same gene are slightly different from each other and code the same characteristic in different forms. We know proteins can have from 20 to 34350 amino acids. Let's take a protein with 4 thousand amino acids. The RNA that formed it had 4 thousand codons, which are 12 thousand nucleotides. I didn't study mutation yet but I assume a mutation can occur in a single nucleotide in the DNA that can or cannot code for a different protein (as some amino acids are coded by more than one codon).