To grad school or not to grad school?

In summary, Daniel, an undergraduate astrophysics student at CU Boulder, is seeking advice on whether to pursue a graduate degree or jump into the private space industry after graduation. He is advised to research job listings and qualifications for his desired career path, as well as to study the backgrounds of successful individuals in the industry. Additionally, he is reminded to consider whether his degree aligns with the needs of companies in the private space industry.
DLOBE
Hi guys,
Im Daniel, I am currently an undergraduate astrophysics student at CU Boulder.
Just coming into my junior year now and I've begun thinking about grad school.

My current career goal is to join the upcoming private space industry. I was hoping
to get some advice about what to do after my undergraduate degree. Whether I should
pursue a graduate degree or not or just jump into the industry and begin working.
Any suggestions or advice would be highly appreciated.

Thanks, D

Physics news on Phys.org
The best advice I could give you is to start looking at job listings for the kind of jobs you would ideally see yourself in 10 years from now. For their requirements, are they looking with people with undergrad degrees, or with grad degrees?

Also, get Physics Today and various magazines like that. Get the issue where it shows the jobs that recent grads have gotten. Find people who have gotten jobs you like the sound of. Find out what degree from what school. This gives you some shiny targets.

DLOBE said:
Hi guys,
Im Daniel, I am currently an undergraduate astrophysics student at CU Boulder.
Just coming into my junior year now and I've begun thinking about grad school.

My current career goal is to join the upcoming private space industry.