Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Transformer Impedance Discussion

1. Aug 7, 2014 #1

psparky

Gold Member

I was working on trying to find the short circuit current rating of a 120 volt panel fed from a 7.5KVA transformer.

Using P=IV you get 7.5KVA=120 * I

I = 62.5 Amps.

Then I believe you divide that current by the impedance of the transformer. .03 is the impedance in this case in the transformer specs. So I do the math and I get about 2,000 amp short circuit rating.

Great. My question is this. If impedance is R + JX, how does .03 relate to that?

Is it possible the R+jx add up to be .03? Or is that nonsense? I believe they even state the .03 as 3% as well.

Last edited: Aug 7, 2014
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 7, 2014 #2
    Ok, I am not an expert in electronics but if you have a circuit with impedances then its automatically an alternating current circuit. In this case I am only able to use complex way to calculate. (Z_complex * I_complex = V_complex)
    You have apparent power and therefore effective/active power and reactive power.
    There has to be a cos(phi) in your calculation of power. active power should be defined as P=V*I*cos(phi)
    You can't easily devide P by U for the current.
    U is the source voltage, but there is also R, and X (capacity or inductivity)
    that means you have dropout voltages on R and X (Vr and Vx)
    Also impedances generally have units, it's Ohm

4. Aug 7, 2014 #3

jim hardy

Science Advisor
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

Sparky - I believe you are getting to the right answer.

I was taught a simpler method
    Your 3% impedance is probably per-unit

so 1 per unit volts / 0.03 per unit impedance = 33.3 per unit amps
    and your per-unit amperage is 62.5 .

62.5 amps X 33.3 = 2081 amps into a zero impedance fault, about what you got