Transition to Advanced Mathematics?

In summary: Euclid's Elements is a good place to start, and there are plenty of other books with plenty of other proofs. You might enjoy having a look at some of Underwood Dudley's books; they're both fun and instructive.In summary, a student is attempting a double major in physics and math and wants to double up on math courses for the next 2-3 semesters. They are currently taking Calculus II and are wondering about a course called "Transition to Advanced Mathematics" which is a prerequisite for their math major. The course covers proof methods, set theory, functions and relations, cardinality, basic number theory, and completeness of the real number system. While it may be challenging at first, the course is necessary for
yUNeeC
I am a rising sophomore and am currently registered for Physics I (calc) and Calculus II. However, I am attempting a double major (phys, math), and have started late...so I would like to double up on my maths for the next 2-3 semesters.

I am currently learning Calculus II, so when I take the course it should be a breeze. The only other course that counts towards my math major, that I have met the prerequisites for, is "Transition to Advanced Mathematics." I was wandering, what exactly is this course? The only bit of information I have about it is that it's prerequisite is Calc I.

What gets discussed, and is it an intensive course? I'm trying to pack my schedule with as much as I can possibly take, yet don't want to go overboard.

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
yUNeeC said:
"Transition to Advanced Mathematics." I was wandering, what exactly is this course? The only bit of information I have about it is that it's prerequisite is Calc I.