Vector addition and the force applied to the shaft of the pulley

In summary: You can check whether your assumptions about the law of cosines make sense or not by plugging in values of β. Try β = 0 and β = π and see which version of the law of cosines gives you the result you want.Since this inclined plane has one base angle = 90°, you need not invoke the law of cosines which considers oblique triangles.
vldst

Homework Statement

Hello, I am currently studying mathematics and physics on my own, and I ran into a type of problem in physics that is a bit unclear to me.

Say we have pulley at the top of an inclined plane with a base angle of alpha and the top angle is alpha.

Homework Equations

I assume that iregardless if the two masses m1 and m2 are accelerating or not, the tension to the left side of the pulley will be equal to the tension on the right side of it. Now, the force applied to the pulley's shaft will be equal to the sum of the two tension vectors, which are equal in magnitude but they have different directions. If we know the angle alpha we can also find the top angle beta which is equal to ( 180 - 90 - alpha ) degrees.
IMG_20180503_230141.jpg

3. The Attempt at a Solution

I understand the law of cosines, but my confusion comes from the two versions of it : the first case c^2 = a^2 + b^2 - 2cos(angle)a * b and the second case c^2 = a^2 + b^2 + 2cos(angle)a*b where a and b are the vectors to be added and c is the resultant vector. After browsing the web, I've found the explanation that the difference comes from whether we're adding the vectors using the parallelogram rule or the triangle rule. It seems that we use the +2cos(angle)a*b for the parallelogram rule.

Could someone tell me if my assumptions were correct and what are the proofs. Thanks, I hope I've been comprehensible enough, english is not my first language.

Attachments

• IMG_20180503_230141.jpg
    IMG_20180503_230141.jpg
    19.7 KB · Views: 1,015
Physics news on Phys.org