Velocity - Viscosity/density? WHAAA?

• Thread starter hasnoidea
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Velocity
In summary: The higher the Reynolds number, the more important the inertial forces are and the less important the viscous forces are.
hasnoidea
Hi forum,
This is my first post on this site, so please go easy on me :D
I'm a year 12 physics student doing an investigation.
We are given the freedom of choosing any field of physics to investigate.
I don't know what came over me as I chose a field I have never came across before: Fluid mechanics. Just the very simple aspects of fluids, but I am not sure where I stand in this uncharted field. So any help would be appreciated :D

My investigation involves me dropping a marble into a tall measuring cylinder filled with different types of oils and recording the marble's terminal velocity in each drop.
Initially, I have selected to investigate the relationship of Velocity and the Viscosity of each liquid. Hypothesising that the higher the viscosity, the lower the terminal velocity.

But the I found this thing called Stokes Law, it looks something like this...

Velocity = 2/9 * (density of object - density of fluid)/dynamic viscosity * acceleration due to gravity * radius of object squared

I noticed that the equation consists of both the density and viscosity, and density and viscosity is not related and is different for each each liquid (to my knowledge)
So now I cannot draw a relationship between the velocity and viscosity anymore, because following the equation, density will affect it.

I just want to know if I'm in the right track or if I have been derailed and am heading for a cliff...
I'd also like to know what I should do in regards to drawing some sort of relationship between the descent velocity and...SOMETHING!

Thanks for any help! :D

Physics news on Phys.org