Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Ways a Car can be More Efficient?

1. Nov 7, 2009 #1
    Why can't a car use the movement of it's axle or wheels and use that to generate electricity? For example there are magnets on the axle and as it moves it create electricity in a coil around it?

I know that energy cannot be created nor destroyed but I don't see how it violates it? I mean the axle moves why not use the that motion to create electricity? Please try to keep your answer simple. Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 7, 2009 #2
    Capturing electricity from a rotating axle will take it away from driving the car forward.

When you set up a field, the act of generating electricity creates a megnetic field that acts as a brake. I can''t remember which way around the fields are created as i'm not too good with electrical stuff.

Of course a KERS system could be used, which occurs when the car is on overrun. That'd work.

4. Nov 7, 2009 #3

Pengwuino

Gold Member

As xxChrisxx stated, power will be taken away from actually propelling the car meaning you'll need to run the engines even harder to produce the same locomotion.

5. Nov 7, 2009 #4
    Do you plan to tie this to the grid? How long is your extension cord?
    Bob S

6. Nov 7, 2009 #5
    Oh well. I which there was a way around the problem.

But what about having an air intake system that uses the fast moving air to spin turbines that can create electricity. Will the drag cancel everything out or is there a way to avoid drag?

7. Nov 7, 2009 #6

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

This is similar to the way regenerative braking works...

8. Nov 7, 2009 #7
    Cars don't go fast enough to have air to spin turbines.