Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What happens at the boundary with light refraction?

1. Jan 1, 2016 #1
    There is something I have been wondering about with refraction. There have been many explanations of why the light bends. However, it still does not feel intuitive. The question I have is with how light enters the clear object. Is it proven that light indeed enters at an angle that is instantly changed. In other words, does the light bend instantly to the new angle or is there a small curve around the entry point. It would be easier to draw what I am talking about, but I am new to this.

What I am interested in finding is a highly magnified image of the bending of light as it is being refracted. Tried to find a decent image on the web but there is too much other clutter.
    There is potential for light to be bent with a very small curve, but there it would be hard to see. Would love to hear of any experiments about this topic. Most likely it is something that was proven long ago.
    Thank you,
    Jeff

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 1, 2016 #2

tech99

Gold Member

If you imagine larger waves it might be easier to picture. For instance, with microwaves entering a block of wax at an angle, we can imagine the electric field lines being distorted by the interface over a depth of something like half a wavelength, before finally arriving at the new angle.

4. Jan 1, 2016 #3
    Thank you tech99,
    This is a very quick turn. Does it matter what the wavelength is? Is it always roughly half of the wavelength?
    Also, are you aware of any experiments about this that are available online?

5. Jan 2, 2016 #4

sophiecentaur

Science Advisor
    Gold Member