What is the computer hardware needed by a physicist?

In summary: Also, I would recommend getting a laptop over a desktop because they are more portable. It is also easier to upgrade the laptop than a desktop.Can you please tell me if a laptop or a desktop is better? and thanks for the advice.In summary, a laptop is better than a desktop for a student because it is more portable and easier to upgrade.
jamalkoiyess
I am looking at desktop and laptop options, but I do not know which will be beneficial to me as a Physics student.
I am a sophomore and am looking for something that can last up to 5 years of performance without having to upgrade and also it should fit my needs as a physicist.

Since I know so little about how physicists actually use computers, I am asking here.

And also if anyone has arguments to support or oppose desktops, please let me know that is another choice I am making.

Computer science news on Phys.org
Id look for computers that can run Matlab and Mathematica well. Matlab is an engineering standard at many schools and works in numerically solving differential equations, doing matrix manipulations...

My preference are Macs because the MacOS is unix based. That makes it easy to work in a linux environment too.

If you want it to last 5 years then you probably need to go with something based on an Intel i7. In five years it will probably be low end by then with the newest machines running 4 to 8 times faster computationally.

Likes jamalkoiyess
I'm a sophomore too so what I'm telling you is just based on my experience as of now and what I've been suggested by my professors.
I believe laptop is the way to go for a student, since you'll likely be moving around a lot and you'll want to carry your pc around with you(or at least that's what I've been doing in the last 2 years; my laptop is always with me).