What is the maximum or Nyquist frequency of a Gaussian signal?

In summary, the conversation discusses the Nyquist frequency of a Gaussian signal and how it relates to Fourier analysis. It is mentioned that the maximum frequency for a Gaussian signal is 5 GHz, but technically it has no upper frequency limit. The importance of choosing a high enough sampling rate to avoid aliasing is also discussed, and it is mentioned that the cutoff frequency will depend on the application and can be determined through calculations or by setting a threshold for the noise level.
Jiho
Hello.
I'm studying Fourier analysis. If we look at attached graph where Gaussian functions are transformed by Fourier analysis, we can find Gaussian functions in frequency domain have maximum value at 0 hertz.
upload_2019-2-14_1-7-8.png

So I confused what is the Nyquist frequency at Gaussian signal. I need to know Nyquist frequency for Fourier analysis, but alll of the Gaussian signal's critical frequcny is 0hertz.

Attachments

• upload_2019-2-14_1-7-8.png
    upload_2019-2-14_1-7-8.png
    12.8 KB · Views: 1,972
Physics news on Phys.org
The zero frequency component is because the pulse is unidirectional i.e. it is DC.
The max frequency is 5 GHz so we would need to sample at at least twice this = 10 GHz.

The transform of a Gaussian is also Gaussian, and although the tails fall off very rapidly (faster than exponential), they never reach zero. Thus a Gaussian technically has no upper frequency limit.
If you sample a Gaussian, frequencies above Fs/2 will alias. If you pick Fs high enough, then the energy in the aliased segment is wholly negligible.

Likes DaveE and FactChecker
tech99 said:
The zero frequency component is because the pulse is unidirectional i.e. it is DC.
The max frequency is 5 GHz so we would need to sample at at least twice this = 10 GHz.

I can't understand why max freq is 5Ghz. Do you mean that value corresponding freq lower at about 5Ghz is close to 0?

marcusl said: