Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What is the ontology of general relativity ?

1. Dec 13, 2005 #1

vanesch

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

What is the "ontology" of general relativity ?

Hi,

First of all, though I know some GR, I'm far from an expert on it. I used to think of the "ontology" of GR as being a 4-dimensional manifold with a metric connection on it, but apparently that doesn't fly, because of the "hole argument":

http://plato.stanford.edu/entries/spacetime-holearg/

I used to think that general covariance simply meant that we could choose arbitrary coordinates on this manifold, but it seems that this is not sufficient.
    So my question is: if the "ontology" of GR is NOT a 4-dim. manifold + metric connection, then what is this ontology ? What, according to (classical) GR, is "out there" ; how do relativists see their subject ?

Or can we still see the ontology of GR as being a 4-dim manifold + metric connection, and the different physical descriptions as "gauge-equivalent" ?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 13, 2005 #2

selfAdjoint

Staff Emeritus
    Gold Member
    Dearly Missed

Equivalence classes of diffeomorphisms on the manifold. At least I think that's what Einstein finallly came to after years of musing on the hole argument.

4. Dec 13, 2005 #3

robphy

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

5. Dec 13, 2005 #4

vanesch

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member