Noether's second theorem: two questions

In summary, the conversation discusses Noether's second theorem and its application to different symmetry groups in physics. The first question asks about the possibility of other groups apart from general relativity and if the theorem also applies to quantum field theory. The conversation then delves into the implications of the theorem, including the existence of improper conservation laws and the concept of gauge symmetries. The second question asks about the possibility of movements that do not respect Lagrange's equations, which is answered by explaining the role of global symmetries in physical laws. The conversation ends with a discussion on how Noether's famous paper was ahead of its time and how the general covariance in general relativity is a gauge symmetry.
Husserliana97
A technical subject, well above my level it seems (I'm still learning about quantum physics and special relativity), but one about which I absolutely must get some clear ideas as soon as possible.

From what I 'understand', Noether's second theorem applies to infinite-dimensional symmetry groups. A classic, even historical, example (this is the one that Noether had in mind) is the invariance group of Riemannian spacetimes, i.e. the set of spacetime diffeomorphisms of GR. First question: what other groups are possible, apart from general relativity? Does Noether's second theorem also apply to quantum field theory (= the 'gauge groups')? Or is it confined to general relativity?

This theorem is supposed to show that the invariance of the Lagrangian by the Lie group (infinite in dimension) of certain theories necessarily implies that the field equations proper to these theories satisfy identities, rather than "classical" conservation laws (called "proper conservation laws" by Hilbert), and the quantities thus "improperly" conserved are associated with local symmetries -- and no longer global symmetries, as in Noether's first theorem.