What skills should someone aspiring with for a PhD in Physics acquire?

In summary, the speaker is a sophomore majoring in physics with limited skills, but is interested in computer/electronics repair and networking. They regret not learning these skills earlier and are now trying to acquire them. They are unsure of what career path to take with their physics degree and are wondering what skills employers of physics PhDs look for. They mention MATLAB and different computer languages as potential skills to master. They want to start acquiring skills now to have a variety of options after graduation. They also receive advice to learn programming, take humanities classes seriously, and stay curious.
MetalManuel
Right now I'm a sophomore majoring in physics and I honestly don't have very many skills. I am great with computer/electronics repair and networking(as a hobby), but that's about it. I kind of wish I learned some of these skills earlier, so that they would be even better by now. Which is what I am trying to do at this moment.

I don't know what I want to do with Physics, but I know I like it. I want to contribute something to society in one way or another, but in order to do that while making a living I need to be employable.

So I was wondering what kind of skills do people who hire Physics PhDs look for? The only thing I can think of is MATLAB, which I don't know anything about, but I see everywhere. Are any computer languages good to master? C++ is a requirement for me, so I was wondering if that would be a good language to get really good at.

I basically want to start acquiring skills now, so that when I am done with school, I will have a large variety of skills.

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
If you do physics as undergrad then do applied math/computer science for grad school then it will be easy to get employed by a company that develops software (engineering software, FEA, game engines, etc)

1) Learn to program.