Which Universities Should I Aim For?

• Schools
  • Thread starter oscillations
  • Start date
  • Tags
    University
In summary: You're not going to be disadvantaged for your PhD if you stay in Australia. PhDs are very competitive even in your own country, let alone internationally.
oscillations
I'm currently a final year student at high school, and I'm not sure what the best options for an undergraduate course are.

I'm thinking about:
  • Cambridge
  • Oxford
  • MIT
  • Harvard
  • Princeton

if I go overseas, and

• Australian National University (to complete the PhB program)
  • University of Sydney (Advanced Science with the Talented Students Program)

if I stay in my home country. Obviously the international universities that I've listed are far more prestigious and offer superior physics undergraduate courses, but I'm worried about being able to afford them - they're all notoriously expensive, and I'm not sure if I'd qualify for aid (my financial situation's complicated, and most Australians don't put aside large university funds). I'm fairly confident that I could gain entrance to ANU and USyd, most probably with scholarships, but I'm not sure if these will offer me a competitive platform to gain admission to a top PhD program. I don't want to say too much about my physics background, but I'll be competing in physics overseas and I've done very well in my country's final year physics courses (as an accelerant in the subject). So, my question is, which universities should I aim for? What kind of assistance is there for the international ones? Will I be disadvantaged for my PhD if I stay in Australia?

Physics news on Phys.org
Damn you only applied to those schools? All of them are extremely competitive...