Why are blue LEDs so expensive?

• Thread starter frenzal_dude
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Leds
In summary, blue LEDs are more expensive than any other color LED because they are new technology and they have more process requirements.
frenzal_dude
Why are blue leds so much more expensive than any other colour leds? I could buy a pack of 100 red leds for about $10, and 1 blue led for $4, in Sydney Australia.

Does it have anything to do with the frequency of blue light being higher than green, red and yellow?

Engineering news on Phys.org
I can't answer your question, but then that never stops me from responding. :smile:

A decent blue LED is recent technology, about as new as white LEDs. Reds have been marketed for the longest time. When I was a student, I recall now with wry amusement, how one textbook stated that "LEDs should theoretically produce only blue light, yet blue is the only colour that researchers have been unable to achieve!"

This must, in part, have led to my developing a healthy distrust of hide-bound theorists.

blue led's use SiC or ZnS, so I am guessing these are expensive compounds?

Excessive fabrication cost for new materials.

You can buy a string of blue 'fairy lights' for just a few quid. A good source if you need several. Very blue and fairly bright. It would depend how bright you need, I suppose.

It's partly a question of "what are people prepared to pay for them" and the manufacturing demand for them compared with other colors.

Some types of "white LED" actually use blue LEDs to generate the light, plus a fluorescent material to convert it from monochromatic to a "white" frequency spectrum. These are much cheaper than blue LEDs - but they are much more generally useful for lighting purposes and therefore benefit from economies of scale.

sophiecentaur said:
You can buy a string of blue 'fairy lights' for just a few quid. A good source if you need several. Very blue and fairly bright. It would depend how bright you need, I suppose.