Would physics be better for me?

• Thread starter 11thHeaven
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physics
In summary, the student is considering a transfer from a mathematics degree to a physics degree at Manchester University. They are struggling with the rigor and focus on proofs in their math courses and believe they would be better suited for physics due to their interest in concepts and research. However, they only have a B in physics from their previous studies. They are seeking advice on how to approach the university administration about a potential transfer.
11thHeaven
Hi all, I'm a student in the UK (Manchester University) in my first year of a maths degree. I'm going through a little bit of a crisis however as to whether maths is what I should be studying.

Now I'm several weeks into my course, and I'm beginning to feel more and more like this isn't right for me. I don't at all find interesting the rigor and focus on proofs, logic, properties of numbers/sets and so on, and I'm struggling to feel any enthusiasm for the subject. The only part of the course I like so far is Calculus, and that's the most similar to what I did in secondary school.

I'm beginning to think that I'd be much better suited to a physics degree. On one level, I'm far more interested in physics (e.g. the concepts and the research that goes on). I do love maths, but what I'm starting to suspect is I'd get more out of a course where I'm doing really cool things with maths to unearth properties of the universe, rather than learning purely about maths, if that makes any sense.

Also, I'm far more excited about what I could do with physics as opposed to what I could do with maths, in terms of research. I'd love to contribute to our knowledge of energy, climate science, or any other number of fields, and I feel a physics background would be far more conducive to this than a maths one.