Writing Your Own Rec Letter: Pros & Cons

• Thread starter mzlk76
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation discussed a student's application for an REU program that requires three recommendation letters. The student has one strong letter from a professor they have worked with for a year and another from a professor they get along with well. However, the student's third professor has asked them to write their own recommendation letter, which the professor will then sign. The student is unsure if this is a good or bad thing and is seeking thoughts on the matter.
mzlk76
Hi all,

I'm applying for an REU that requires 3 rec letters. I have 1 strong letter from a professor I worked with for a year, 1 from a prof I get along with really well, and I feel both of those are fairly strong.

I've been working with a different professor for about 5 months now. When i asked him for a rec letter he told me if I wrote one, he would sign it. Is this bad or good? I've never written anything like this before. I could get someone else to do it, but I don't feel like they know me well enough.

Thoughts?

Physics news on Phys.org
It happens from time to time.

So long as the professor is actually going to read it over and legitimately agrees with what you've stated about yourself there isn't anything unethical about it. Often, what will happen is that professors will ask students to do this and then edit out anything they disagree with.

mzlk76 said:
Hi all,

I'm applying for an REU that requires 3 rec letters. I have 1 strong letter from a professor I worked with for a year, 1 from a prof I get along with really well, and I feel both of those are fairly strong.

I've been working with a different professor for about 5 months now. When i asked him for a rec letter he told me if I wrote one, he would sign it. Is this bad or good? I've never written anything like this before. I could get someone else to do it, but I don't feel like they know me well enough.

Thoughts?