Optimization/maximization with multivariable calculus

In summary, the conversation is about a problem in calculus where the task is to maximize the Riemann Sum subject to certain constraints. The student is struggling with understanding the concept and asks for help in finding the solution. Suggestions are made to use partial derivatives or Lagrange multipliers, but ultimately, it is suggested to think about the problem in terms of vectors. The thread starter has not been active since 2007, so it is unlikely to receive a response from them.
adradmin

Homework Statement

Maximize the Riemann Sum ##\Sigma^{n}_{i=1}x_{i}*y_i## subject to constraints ##\Sigma^{n}_{i=1}x^{2}_{i}=1## and ##\Sigma^{n}_{i=1}y^{2}_{i}=1 ##

Homework Equations

My teacher doesn't speak English very well. I'm in Calculus 3 and the average on his exams are around 40%. I'm a good Engineering student and need help. In class, we did an optimization problem where you can maximize the volume of say a box since you know length, width, height. We never went over this and I'm wondering how to do this. Despite him teaching us derivatives in that section, should I approach by doing integration and find the bounded region of x^2 and y^2 individually? Limits were never taught that much in high school so I really would appreciate your help.

The Attempt at a Solution

Maybe try the partial derivatives of the last two equations with respect to x and y, then set them to zero to find critical points? That's the only way I knew how to find local max and absolute max. Please help if you can. Thanks guys.

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
You could try Lagrange multipliers, but in this case the easiest is probably to think what it means in terms of vectors. What should the relationship be between ##\vec x## and ##\vec y##?

Last edited:
haruspex said:
I assume it should read <snip>