Best degree to go into systems engineering?

In summary, the speaker is an engineering student at McMaster University who wants to pursue a career in systems engineering, but their school does not offer it as a major. They are considering taking mechatronics classes as a substitute, but they have heard that it may be too broad of a degree and make it difficult to find a job. They are wondering if it would be better to study electrical engineering instead, even though the program only has a few courses in systems engineering. They are open to the idea of going to graduate school to learn more about the subject. They are seeking advice and are interested in others' opinions on the matter.
geralt
I am an engineering student at McMaster University who is interested in going into systems engineering. Unfortunately, our school does not offer this as a major. However, the mechatronics curriculum has a lot of systems classes in it, so I was thinking of taking that. The problem is, I've heard mechatronics is too broad of a degree and that no employers know what it is, so finding a job can be difficult.

Because of this, would it be better to go into electrical engineering if i wanted to work in systems engineering? The program only has you take a couple courses in this subject, but I suppose I could always go to graduate school to learn more. Thanks for any advice! Have a good day.

Physics news on Phys.org
Anyone?

I'm interested too

1. What is systems engineering?

Systems engineering is an interdisciplinary field that focuses on designing, implementing, and managing complex systems over their entire life cycles. It involves integrating different components and subsystems to create a functioning system that meets the desired requirements.

2. What are the job prospects for systems engineering graduates?