Can I Pursue a Masters in Theoretical Physics with a 3 Year BSc?

In summary, the conversation revolved around an Indian student with a 3 year BSc in physics who wants to pursue research in theoretical physics and is interested in doing a masters abroad. The student inquired about countries and universities that recognize a 3 year bachelors degree and the possibility of getting admission into a good university in the UK with a good TOEFL/IELTS score and no previous research experience. The conversation also touched upon the need for a proficient level of English and the fact that most undergraduate students do not have research experience.
abhishek99087
hello friends, i am an indian student with a 3 year BSc in physics interested in pursuing research in theoretical physics. I want to do masters from abroad. What are the countries/universities which recognise a three year bachelors degree? please guide...

Physics news on Phys.org
3 years BSc is pretty standard here in the UK.

OK! So now, i passed my BSc (physics) examination in april 2013 with a good 79%. With a good enough TOEFL/IELTS score will i get admission into a good university in the UK or are their any additional requirements. I have no previous research experience as such.

Last edited:
I don't know exactly how that translates into the degree classification that is used over here. But it sounds like you'd be pretty close to having a 1st.

Yes, you will need to show that you have a proficient level of English to study over here - But from the way that you're writing, I think that will be easy for you.

As for research, most undergrad students don't have any experience in research either apart from a final year project.

I hope it all goes well for you.

thank you!

1. What is a Masters degree after a 3 year BSc?