A Physics masters degree while training to be a soldier

In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of pursuing a Masters degree in Physics while enlisting in the army in the same country. The individual has a Bachelor's degree in Physics and is considering enlisting in the army while also pursuing a Masters degree. However, there are concerns about the feasibility of this plan and the individual is advised to go to school for physics and then enlist after completing their degree. Other options, such as joining the reserves or considering an ROTC program, are also mentioned. The conversation also touches upon the challenges one may face when returning to school after being out for a period of time.
positron016
Hi everyone.
Do you know of any possibilities available to pursue a masters degree in Physics while enlisted in the army in the same country?

I am a commonwealth country citizen and seek this opportunity abroad.
I have a Bachelor's degree in Physics and I'd love to do a masters in Physics but also love to enlist in the army, I am looking for ways to do both AT THE SAME TIME.

I am already 31 years old and finishing either before pursuing the other reduces success at the later.

For example, I would enlist and be training with other new recruits while following courses in a near-by university for a masters in Physics; pass out or be commissioned after a year or so of military training and the next year graduate with Msc in designated Physics area.
Which countries, universities and or armies can facilitate this?

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
I'm not sure your strategy will work as planned. Once you join, you are under military rules meaning they can train you and assign you to any post. Further, in order to go to school as you plan, you most likely will have to earn the right and that will take more time perhaps 1 to 2 years of service and maybe more.