Centrifugal Compressors - volumetric flow and pressure ratio

In summary, in a centrifugal compressor, as volumetric flow decreases, pressure ratio increases due to the relationship between volume and pressure in a closed system. This may seem counterintuitive, but it is based on the assumption that mass flow rate remains constant and the density of the fluid increases. This results in a higher pressure rise during flow diffusion. The decrease in volumetric flow also leads to a decrease in flow velocity and dynamic pressure before reaching the impeller. This understanding may be new for those new to compressor theory.
fitchie23
Hi all, I am relatively new to compressor theory and I am looking for a good explanation as to how volumetric flow affects pressure ratio between the stages within a centrifugal compressor. My current knowledge is that as volumetric flow decreases, pressure ratio increases as stated in one of the books I am reading. This doesn't seem intuitive to me and I am looking for a good solid expatiation as to why this occurs. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Cheers
Anthony

Engineering news on Phys.org
It depends on how you are measuring your volume flow, if you are using Actual Cubic Metres per Sec then as pressure doubles volume will be halved, (roughly) if using Standard Cubic Metres per Sec then volume flow will remain constant.