Confusion about the math of the Comoving Coordinates

In summary: I am an expert summarizer of content. I only provide a summary of the content. Do not output anything before the summary.
Arman777
Insights Author
Gold Member
From the FLRW metric Proper distance can be derived like this,

$$ds^2=-c^2dt^2+a^2(t)[dr^2+S_k(r)^2d\Omega^2]$$

Let us fixed the time at ##t=t_0## for the measurement and assume that the object has only radial component, then the metric equation turns out to be,

$$ds^2=a^2(t_0)dr^2$$
$$\int_0^{s_p}ds=a(t_0)\int_0^{r}dr$$

or

$$s_p=a(t_0)r~~(Eqn.1)$$ where ##s_p## is the proper distance and ##r## is the comoving distance.

To derive the comoving coordinate we can consider the path of the light

Now for the derivation of the comoving coordinate, which it writes in this paper https://arxiv.org/abs/astro-ph/0310808, the comoving distance can be defined as the path that taken by the light from emission time to observation time.

$$r=c\int_{t_e}^{t_o}\frac {dt} {a(t)}~~(Eqn.2)$$

Now let us suppose, that r to be found at 100Mpc. Is this means that ##r=100Mpc## at ##a(t_0)=1 ## ?
So can we say the proper distance at ##a(t)=1/2## will be ##s_p=50Mpc## ?

Another problem that I noticed is that when we derive the Hubble Law from the proper distance
$$s_p=a(t)r$$
we take as ##dr/dt=0 ## so that we claim
$$V=H(t)r$$ but as above its clear that ##\frac {dr} {dt}=\frac {c} {a(t)}≠0~~(Eqn.3)##

So if r means comoving distance in both cases then what is the problem here?

Last edited:
Space news on Phys.org
Arman777 said:
To derive the comoving coordinate

What do you mean by this? You don't have to "derive" any comoving coordinate: the coordinates ##t##, ##r##, ##\theta##, ##\phi## are comoving coordinates. However, you are using non-standard labeling for ##r##; see below.

Arman777 said: