Deriving EDE Equation: Need Opinions

• A
  • Thread starter jordy1113
  • Start date
  • Tags
    deriving
In summary, Jordy1113 is asking for opinions on how to go about deriving the EDE equation for matter, radiation, and dark energy. He suggests using equation 4 to find the right side of equation 5 and solving for omega d. He advises readers to derive the EDE for themselves. For matter (baryonic or dark), w = 0, leading to a $\rho_m(a) = \rho_m^0 a^{-3}$ dependence. For radiation (specifically for an isotropic blackbody radiation field), it can be shown that the relation between radiation pressure and energy density is given by w = 1/3, leading to a $\rho_r = \
jordy1113
Summary:: Need opinions on how to go about deriving EDE equation

Hello, I am an undergrad starting cosmo research under one of my professors and he assigned me to derive eqn 6 below. My plan now is to use eqn 4 to find the right side of eqn 5 and solve for omega d. I haven't tried this yet but was wondering if this is the right way to go or if there another way anyone sees, thank you : )
Screen Shot 2021-11-30 at 10.43.44 PM.png

Likes yucheng
Space news on Phys.org
Hi @jordy1113 : this is an interesting question! I think it might be useful to step back for a minute and see where all this is coming from, rather than just blindly substituting one equation into another. For any constituent of the "perfect" (largely isotropic & homogenous) "fluid" that we consider to be permeating the Universe, we can write its equation of state as
$$P = w \rho $$