Dive in to the hardware of a computer

In summary, the conversation discusses the process of how a code written in C language is converted to voltage signals inside a flipflop, and how the text file with 1s and 0s is converted to voltage changes. It also mentions the role of gates and wires in controlling the pathways and outputs of a CPU, and how computer hardware can be built using simple components. Assembly language and C language are mentioned as abstractions of machine code, with C being a higher level abstraction.
ncd5883
dear all,
I am not a electronic engineer. i want to understand the basics in which a code written in C language gets
converted to voltage signals inside the flipflop(transistor). basically when i write x=3+4,print x through a C language, what happens inside the hardware? I know the x=3+4 is converted or compiled to 1 and 0 as a text file. how the text file 1 and 0 goes inside as voltage changes. i know i get into the depth, but someone can throw light.

thanks
ncd

Computer science news on Phys.org
You are basically asking us to inform you of the contents of several full-semester college courses. I'm a speed typist but that's a bit too much even for me.

Likes Greg Bernhardt
You have a cpu clock running that produces a square wave of high and low votage. At each rising edge, the wires coming out of the clock become hot, and voltage travels through the circuitry. In the circuitry are various gates which can either allow current through or not depending on which inputs are hot. For example, you may have a gate in which a signal is let through unless 2/2 input pins are hot. That would be a nand gate, which is well known because nand is logically complete, i.e., you can make any logic circuit with just wires and nand gates.