Drop out of PhD in fluid mechanics and switch to Mres in mathematical physics?

In summary, the conversation revolves around whether it is beneficial to do a post-doc in a different area from one's PhD. Some cases have shown that having specific connections between the two areas can be desirable, while others have shown that strong grades and publications may be more important. However, there is no clear answer as everyone's circumstances and outcomes are different. The individual is advised to take a break from asking these questions and do their own research.
binbagsss
A post doc in an area that differs from my PhD?

I am currently doing a PhD in fluid mechanics but want to do mathematical physics tbh. In another thread I got an answer about a user who had done a PhD in accelerator physics and went to do a post-doc in condensed matter, vice versa even, but in their case, it seemed like it was largely about there being specific connections between the two that were desired at the times,

I've read around other cases, e.g one in biology where the areas did not relate in such a way (or so that's the impression that comes across on a first read of the story), and where in this case the student mentions how she read a lot more of this other subject she ended up going to do a post-doc in, than her current PhD topic.

But my question is, despite everyone in this forum saying otherwise, that mathematical physics programmes are harder to get into than applied maths, and, if one wasn't considered a good enough candidate to be offered a position in mathematical physics to start with- for a PhD- why would they then be for the case of a post-doc? I mean with the biology story above, I do not know about the fields enough to guess whether the situation would have been this - her grades were strong enough in the first place.