Engineering Physics programs without Engineering

In summary, your goal should be to get ABET accredited. Schools that offer engineering physics without an engineering program typically have a different major title, meaning that you will need to clarify what you mean when you say "engineering physics." You might also want to consider contacting other universities in the area to see if you can do a cross listing to start.
Scott Hill
Is anyone aware of a liberal arts college (or other such school) that offers Engineering Physics without having a full-blown Engineering program? I'm a physics professor at a small school and we're investigating the feasibility of adding such a program ourselves; it would be useful to see some examples.

Physics news on Phys.org
Well your end goal at a minimum should be to get ABET accredited.

http://www.abet.org/accreditation/

I would look through here and ensure that any system you come up with will meet these requirements.

Likes dlgoff, Scott Hill and berkeman
Thanks for the suggestion.

Some concrete examples (if they exist) would be helpful though. It's easy to offer Engineering Physics when you already have an engineering program, but I'm wondering if anyone is managing it without one.

I suggest that partly the difficulty, or lack thereof, depends on what you intend that degree title to mean. Does it mean a physics degree with just a dab of engineering included, or does it mean an engineering degree with a dose of physics? The title itself lends itself to interpretation either way.

Dr.D said:
I suggest that partly the difficulty, or lack thereof, depends on what you intend that degree title to mean. Does it mean a physics degree with just a dab of engineering included, or does it mean an engineering degree with a dose of physics? The title itself lends itself to interpretation either way.