European master -> Ph.D in USA

In summary, the individual is currently completing a Master's degree in Dynamical Systems at the Royal Institute of Technology in Sweden and is considering applying to a Ph.D program in Electrical Engineering in the United States. They acknowledge that their lack of research experience may put them at a disadvantage compared to American students. However, they have a strong academic background, including a one-year exchange program at a top French school and summer research at Caltech. They also have the potential for strong letters of recommendation and a decent GRE Math score. The individual is seeking advice on whether it is advantageous to already have a Master's degree when applying for a Ph.D program and which US schools are strong in Electrical Engineering and may be a good fit for their application. They also
pettni
I am one year away from completing a master in Dynamical Systems (previously I have a Bachelor in Engineering Physics) at the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH) in Sweden. It is considered a top school in Sweden but in international rankings you will have to look way down the lists to find it. I have started to think about applying to a Ph.D program in Electrical Engineering for next year and would like to do it in the states. The problem is that I don't know what chances I have to get in, or how high I should aim. The dream would be to go to Berkeley or another top-school in California.

The swedish system is quite different. Usually you apply to a 5-year Bachelor+Master program and then you already have a master when applying for a Ph.D. Also, the students are not very involved in research so I probably lack in research experience. Especially compared to 2nd-year Ph.D's in USA.

Short bio: