Final Year Project (BEng) Ideas

In summary, the person is looking for ideas for a final year project and is interested in aerospace-related topics. They are also interested in green energy.
herpamad
Hey All

I am looking for some ideas, or what might be an interesting project for a final year project for a Degree.

My degree is Mech Eng, but my key areas are:

- Aerospace
- Programming/Code/Systems
- Electronics/Signals
- Thermo/Fluid Dynamics

I was thinking of doing some aerospace related project, but can't find much that needs a good bit of research doing.

I was also thinking about Engines.

Looking for some good research areas/ideas and then what to call the title.

Asking a lot i know, but i have so many things i am interested in i will spend to much time chopping and changing, thus asking here to get some good ideas and run with one.

Engineering news on Phys.org
How about picking something one of your university's research groups are working on? Or something relevant to the field in which you want to work?

Does your school have a wind tunnel?

I wonder if you would be interested in doing aerodynamical research on things from the natural world.Birds have been well researched but how about seeds?The dandelion and sycamore come to mind.

are you interested in Solar energy ?

it's a really great field, you can do a lot of projects related to it

like solar desalination, solar refrigeration or heating purposes

brewnog said:
How about picking something one of your university's research groups are working on? Or something relevant to the field in which you want to work?

I am at one of those that does little in the way of research, I was at a good Uni that did research in Aerospace mainly, thus wanting to run with that idea.

berkeman said:
Does your school have a wind tunnel?

Yes, its an OK one too, used for the Automotive chaps, what's was you thinking then? thanks.

Dadface said: