What are some good ideas for capstone project?

In summary, a ME student is looking for project ideas for their 3rd year and is interested in eco-friendly/sustainable projects as well as projects that could benefit people in third world countries. A suggestion is given to look into solving the problem of keeping food and medicines cold in hot, dry countries with limited resources. A resource is provided for further inspiration.
Dimitri655
Hey guys!

I'm a ME student starting my 3rd year and I am trying to come up with project ideas for next year. I was wondering if you could help me out. For the moment I was mostly interested in eco friendly/ sustainable projects but I'm not completely up to date on the subject so I'm not sure what are some current solvable problems that I could work on. Else, I would also be keen on doing a cool project that would benefit people in third world countries. So if you have any ideas, feel free to share.

Thanks,

Engineering news on Phys.org
One of the big unsolved problems is how to keep food and medicines cold in hot dry countries with few resources .

1. What is a capstone project?

A capstone project is a culminating project that students typically complete in their final year of study. It is a comprehensive project that integrates knowledge and skills from various subject areas and allows students to showcase their learning and apply it to a real-world problem or issue.

2. How do I choose a topic for my capstone project?

Choosing a topic for your capstone project can be a daunting task, but it is important to select a topic that you are passionate about and that aligns with your academic and career goals. Consider brainstorming ideas with your peers, speaking with your advisor, and researching current issues in your field of study to help you narrow down your options.

3. Can I work on a capstone project with a group?