Frequency or phase shift when using pulsed wave doppler

In summary, the conversation is about using ultrasound to measure cardiac strain and the physics behind doppler imaging. The medical student is asking why pulsed wave doppler measurements measure a phase shift instead of a change in frequency. The response explains that measuring a phase allows for a more precise estimation of frequency deviation compared to measuring a change in frequency over a specific time period. The conversation also touches on the limitations of measuring distances less than a wavelength.
mkh004
Hi,
I'm a medical student who is using ultrasound to measure cardiac strain. I'm trying to read up a bit on the physics behind doppler imaging (I did AP physics in high school), and I have a question for some genius out there. I keep reading that in pulsed wave doppler measurements, one does not measure the change in frequency, but a phase shift of the waves. Why?

Engineering news on Phys.org
To measure a freq. you have to count pulses over specific period of time , "gate" time. This period can't be too long, I'd think at least no more than 100 milliseconds for biological process, to keep update rate 10 Hz or so. This implies error in measurements, +-10 Hz. But if you measure a phase, there is no such limitation, and precision in estimation of deviation a frequency 360 times better for phase error 1 degree

Are you measuring distances less than a wavelength?

You typically are trying to measure position shifts of less than a wavelength between successive pulses.

Hi there,

First of all, it's great that you're interested in understanding the physics behind pulsed wave doppler measurements. I can provide some insight on the frequency and phase shift in this technique.