How are software packages handled in Linux?

In summary, Linux is a system where programs are compiled into executable form and stored in a directory. The installation process places these executables in a corresponding installation directory. Once the software is installed, it writes data to the registry. There are many package managers available for Linux, which allow you to install software from the internet. Makefiles are used to compile source code and are present on most Linux systems.
kandelabr
Hello,
i'm a beginner in linux and there's a thing i don't understand and can't find the answer in books nor on the net: software.
how is it handled in linux? there are some packages or something. are there separate packages for different distributions? if that's true, that's an unpleasant feature of linux.

i've read something about databases (debian etc.) and there are also sites like packages.ubuntu.com, packages.debian.org, etc. what's that?

in windows, a program is compiled and put into an installation program and when it installs it puts its files in its directory and writes some data to the registry; what's the situation in linux? why do i spot compilation instructions on almost every program's pages?
what's a makefile? i did a lot of programming in C on windows, but never used anything like a makefile. i have a feeling that's quite an important thing in linux. (?)

what a confusion.
thanks.

Computer science news on Phys.org
kandelabr said:
how is it handled in linux? there are some packages or something. are there separate packages for different distributions? if that's true, that's an unpleasant feature of linux.
There are different packaging mechanisms for different distributions (.deb, .rpm etc) but most distributions can handle all types

in windows, a program is compiled and put into an installation program and when it installs it puts its files in its directory and writes some data to the registry; what's the situation in linux?