Languages for Engineering - unsure what to study

In summary, the female engineer is considering learning Spanish, German, Arabic, and Mandarin Chinese. She studied French and Latin at school, but her French is not great. She wants something useful for work and is unsure if her sex would mean Arabic would be more limiting. She's also been told that Mandarin is a fairly easy language to learn.
sketch
I am being offered subsidised language courses with my BEng Mechanical Engineering including a free first year, and need to decide soon what language I want to study.

I can choose from French, Spanish, German, Arabic and Mandarin Chinese.

I am female and live in the UK, though I am very much open to working in other countries when I am qualified.

I studied French and Latin at school, and my French is ok-ish (spoken) but I still struggle with the grammar if producing written French, though it's still my best language by far.

The thing is that I want something useful for work as well - a friend who is an engineer said they did German but barely used it as most of the Germans they met professionally spoke better English than they did German anyway.

I have no idea if my sex would mean Arabic would be more limiting, or if I should build on my French and try to get it to a higher level. And then I've been told that grammar-wise Chinese is fairly easy, but is any level of Chinese likely to impress an employer?

:confused:

Physics news on Phys.org
Hey sketch and welcome to the forums.

I guess my question for you boils down to what you would like to use the language for if you did end up pursuing it?

Languages are good for professional and career reasons if you choose this route, and if you decide to either work overseas or end up having to either travel or meet international clients, then this would be of great benefit.