Power generated by dependent source

In summary, the power generated by the dependent source in the given circuit is -168W. The analysis involves determining the current in the 3 ohm resistor using the independent voltage source, and then finding the current in the middle wire (ix) using the passive sign convention. The book "Engineering Circuit Analysis" by Hayt can be referred to for further understanding.
hogrampage

Homework Statement

Determine the power generated by the dependent source in the circuit shown below:

blah-5.jpg

Homework Equations

Ix=V/R
Pgen=V*I

The Attempt at a Solution

I made an equivalent circuit, but it may not be correct (resistors in parallel?):

blah2-1.jpg

Ix=-(12V/(12/7)Ω)=-7A
2Ix=2(-7a)=-14A

Passive sign convention is satisfied for the dependent source, so Pgen = -Pabs:
Pgen=-(12V)(-14A)=-168W

I am not sure I did this correctly, as this is my first time in a class like this. If I am going about this wrong, could someone point me in the right direction? I understand most of the homework in this class, but this one kind of confused me.

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
I think you are straying way off course. The independent voltage source produces a current in that 3 ohm resistor. You can determine its value.

ix has a direction opposite to what the voltage source produces, so you need to attach a negative sign to the magnitude of the current and call it ix

continue ...

Yeah, my professor showed us how to do it in class today and it makes a lot more sense now. I had just learned the material and the book we have isn't very good at giving examples/explanations.

Yeah it can get tricky for a newbie but stick to basics...

First of all realize that the wire connecting the two parts of the circuit cannot provide for both forward and return path for current. So current in the middle wire has to be zero. Now analyse both the parts of the circuit individually following what nascent oxygen told in the previous post...