Selection Rules for a Diatomic Molecule?

In summary: Bransden-Joachain says that the selection rule for ##\Delta K## for diatomic molecules is ##\Delta K = 0, \pm 1##.11.3 of Bransden-Joachain is the correct rule and states that ##\Delta \Lambda = 0, \pm 1##.
Sebacide
Hello!
I have a question about selection rules and electronic transitions of a diatomic molecule: I can't find a good explanation about that, and there's so much confusion about the right rules to use.
I studied that on Bransden-Joachain's "Physics of atoms and molecules", but there (to whom have the book, paragraphs 11.1 and 11.3 of 2nd edition) is said that diatomic molecules are forced to have a transition with ΔΛ=0, and, some pages on, that there is a rule ΔΛ=0,+-1; so, which is the right one?
Surely they are referred to different situations, but it is not explained very clearly.
Thanks for the answers!

Physics news on Phys.org
I don't really understand what Bransden and Joachain are saying in 11.1. They are discussing pure rotational spectra, so I don't see why they invoke ##\Delta \Lambda##.

In any case, 11.3 is correct and ##\Delta \Lambda = 0, \pm 1##.

Likes Twigg
Hi, thank you for your help: I thought the same, but during class it was mentioned the ##\Delta \Lambda=0## only.
So, if I have to describe the possible transition between two fixed electonic states, I have to separate the case in which one of the two lamdas is not zero and the one they are zero?

Sebacide said:
Hi, thank you for your help: I thought the same, but during class it was mentioned the ##\Delta \Lambda=0## only.
So, if I have to describe the possible transition between two fixed electonic states, I have to separate the case in which one of the two lamdas is not zero and the one they are zero?
The selection rules on ##\Delta K## is not the same for ##\Lambda = 0 \leftrightarrow \Lambda = 0## than for ##\Lambda \neq 0 \leftrightarrow \Lambda \neq 0##

Sebacide said: