Should I or Should I not pursue a postgraduate degree in physics

In summary, the conversation discusses the speaker's interest in pursuing a postgraduate degree in physics, but expresses concerns about finding a well-paid job in comparison to engineering. They also ask for advice on the differences between engineering and physics postgraduate programs, the dominance of mathematical physics in astrophysics research, and suggestions for universities that offer financial support for international students. The conversation also touches on the potential benefits of engineers pursuing postgraduate studies or gaining industry experience. Ultimately, the speaker is advised to think about their long-term goals and what they want to learn and experience before making a decision.
twist.1995
Hello!

I am studying Physics and Electronic and Communications Engineering double major. I really enjoy studying physics, and find it fascinating to manipulate difficult formulas that describe natural phenomena. However, I am concerned that there are far more engineering jobs out there than physics research jobs.
My intentions at the moment is to pursue the postgraduate degree in theoretical or applied physics (I am finishing my third year at university).

However, I am concerned about the fact that I will not be able to find a well-paid job, as opposed to engineering.

I would like to know whether there is a huge difference between engineering and physics postgraduate courses at universities, whether mathematical physics dominates astrophysics in terms of research and the number of job positions, and what universities you can suggest for electrical/electronic/power engineering and physics which provide financial support for international students, and requirements for entering these universities.

Also, is it beneficial for engineers to go to postgraduate courses, or it is better to gain the industry (practical) experience?

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org